Friday Fictioneers – The Light

“It’s true what they say. There is a light. I didn’t believe them.”

“I can manage it. I can almost touch it. Keep going. Nearly there.”

With each step towards the brightness the pain continued to leave John’s body. The pain which had made living so hard.

All of a sudden he was bathed in that smothering light.  A light which offered salvation. A light of hope?

“I can hear voices. I can see people, shapes, things”

As quickly as it had come the light then faded.

“Am I gone? Where am I? ”

Silence. John felt no more pain.

The above is my entry into this week’s photo prompt 100 word challenge over at Friday Fictioneers.

44 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – The Light

    1. paulmclem Post author

      Thanks Claire. Yep, I thought of the stairs, spirals, downward spirals etc but then decided that was perhaps too obvious so went for the light. I will now go and have a read of yours!

      Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      Thanks Janet. Yes, I like the ending too. Almost posted the story with a different ending but on review this one popped into my head. Glad it did.

      Reply
      1. paulmclem Post author

        Three comments but I’ll stick to one reply! I like positive feedback from any source. We all do. However, when I see your Blog and what you’ve achieved in the writing world it makes it mean even more. One of my ambitions when I started writing was to earn respect for my efforts from people whose respect is worth having. Very, very early days and I’m barely scratching the surface of what’s in me but having you make positive comments on my words is extremely encouraging. Thanks Jennifer.

        ps Glad to read that you’re not a criminal.

    1. paulmclem Post author

      To be honest it wasn’t the first thing I focused on. However, the more I stared at the picture the more it stood out. Thanks for commenting.

      Reply
  1. Steve B

    I think you blended the light and the stairs nicely. I sense him struggling upwards, but the stairs are just a means….the light. Only to have it go out when he reaches the top? Very E.A. Poe.

    Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      Cheers, Steve. Never read any Poe but his work features heavily in a TV show I am watching called “The Following”. Will have to try and read some soon. Thanks for your kind words.

      Reply
  2. rochellewisoff

    Dear Paul,
    Hard to say much other than echo what’s already been said. I love that you saw the light rather than the stairs. I encourage writers to see more than the photograph. Use it as an influence rather than an illustration. Well done.
    shalom,
    Rochelle

    Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      Thanks a lot Rochelle. Means a lot to me that some people out there can see a bit of potential in what I am doing. As I’ve said to others we’re just scratching the surface here, playing with ideas. However, I know with time, practice and encouragement I have it in me to produce work which people will hopefully enjoy reading. One step at a time though. 100 words at a time even. Once again thanks for reading my entry and taking the time to comment.

      Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      He is talking to himself. To be more accurate they are thoughts in his head while he is still conscious. At the moment I’m not sure whether thoughts in someone’s head should be in quotes. Some authors put them in italics. Something I’ll need to do some research on.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

