A Cold Warning To Those Losing Weight.

I used to be around the 18 stones 6 lbs mark, or for those who you who prefer metric, somewhere in the vicinity of 116 kg. I was very rarely cold. I am now 12 stones 8 lbs, just under 80 kg. I have lost over 30% of my bodyweight. I am now almost always freezing cold. You will now struggle to see me without at least two layers on top and sometimes three, even in the house. Strange but true.

As it happens it’s probably not that strange. Compared to where I am now I previously covered my body in the equivalent of several thick jumpers and plenty more besides. Having shed that burden my body is naturally feeling it. Fingers in particular seem to have lost a lot of their covering and when out cycling my hands are regularly in danger of turning into blocks of ice, even when wearing thick gloves.

The solution. Well, I’m not sure there is one. Not planning to put weight back on. In time I think my body and I will adjust. Few more cardigans and base layers already added to my wardrobe. Hoping to put a bit of muscle back on over the year as I get out on my bike more and perhaps do some weights. This might help. Maybe it won’t.

So there you have it. If you need to lose weight then go for it, you can do it. Just be prepared to not feel quite as warm as you once did without additional clothing assistance.

Leave a Reply

