Do Your Bit To Solve The Obesity Crisis

myfitnesspalLet me start by saying I am not in any way connected to myfitnesspal the company or any of their employees. This is not advertising spam. What follows is simply the views of someone who has successfully used their website and smartphone app to lose almost six stones. This blog has been brewing for a while. It was near the top of my “to blog” list. What has brought it to the top was yet another day of obesity crisis headlines.

The Academy of Medical Royal Colleges has produced a report which suggests “Fizzy” drinks should be heavily taxed and junk food adverts banished until after the watershed. By Fizzy I would assume they mean drinks with excessive amounts of sugar as not all fizzy drinks do contain the dreaded white powder. For those outwith the UK I should perhaps additionally explain that the “watershed” is deemed to be a time when television in theory becomes for adults only, nominally around 9pm. After that you are free to show people kissing, bare bottoms and potentially now feature adverts for fizzy drinks. Now, the point of this piece is not to take a position on this article. I’m not qualified enough in the field to attempt a serious review of their findings. Instead all I am looking to highlight is what we as individuals can do about this apparent fatness epidemic.

Well, for me weight loss really started to make sense when I began to closely watch what I was eating. You can exercise and you can think you are eating less but if you’re not actually keeping an accurate log of what you consume (i.e what’s going in and what’s going out) you are potentially stumbling around in the dark. The solution? Well if you’ve read this far you already know the answer. Myfitnesspal isn’t rocket science. It is just basic nutritional science. Count your calories, know what amounts of sugars, carbohydrates, proteins and the various fats you are taking in. The food database rarely turns up a blank on any searches. As a bonus with the app you can do direct scans of bar-codes. On an average day I may spend five minutes logging food. It isn’t a chore.

Where logging your food works for me is that you have no excuses. You know exactly what you are eating. You know when you are eating too much and you just as importantly when you are eating too little. Since using MFP I have become exponentially more aware of what I should and shouldn’t be eating. This is key for me as I can’t help but feel a huge underlying cause of obesity is a lack of knowledge of how your body works. You don’t have to be a doctor to go on a successful diet. However, it helps if you grasp the fundamentals of why you put on weight and thus how you lose it.

If you think this sounds like the tool to help you with your attempts to shift some unwanted weight then head on over to myfitness pal. If you do join and want a friend to help encourage you then just give me a shout, my membership name is RedWeb!

http://www.myfitnesspal.com/

2 thoughts on “Do Your Bit To Solve The Obesity Crisis

Leave a Reply

