100 Word Challenge For Grown Ups

What the heck. Here are 100 words. This is my first ever entry to any sort of writing competition. This competition to be precise:

http://jfb57.wordpress.com/2013/02/25/100-word-challenge-for-grown-ups-week79/

I apologise in advance to those who write professionally or even unprofessionally but well. Everybody needs to start somewhere:

************************************************

The dew had soaked through his trousers. Why was he lying there ?

He was lying there last week too. His mother must despair.

The front door key was glistening only a few feet away. Might as well have been in his hand for all the good it would do him.

It’s the same every Friday. He sees HER and then goes THERE!

Why ? She doesn’t listen and they don’t care. Only his mother cares. Only a mother would care.

Get up, get up! It’s not too late to sort this mess out. Quick, they’re coming.

…Mother, help me!

************************************************

There. Done it. I will get better. Be gentle with me.

12 thoughts on “100 Word Challenge For Grown Ups

    1. paulmclem Post author

      Thanks for the kind words on my creative writing debut. I am extremely encouraged that what I came up with might have people intrigued enough to want to read more.

      Reply
  1. newpillowbook

    First of all, welcome! Everyone has to start someplace, and you’re taking that big first step. I’m left really curious about WHERE he goes after seeing her, and who “they” are in the last sentence – a good excerpt from a longer story, I think.

    Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      Really flattered by people taking time out to comment on my piece. Especially when I go and see what they are writing, wow ! Lot’s to learn. Thanks again.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

