Friday Fictioneers – Suburban Sirens

ff270313They were a curious lot at No. 39. Mr Flannagan at No. 43 had always insisted so. They gave him the creeps.

All varieties of strangeness coming and going during the night. Candles on during the day. This wasn’t that sort of neighbourhood.

Mr Flannagan was watching. Just waiting to make his move.

No! Enough! That’s going too far.

A knock on the door. Without awaiting a reply Mr Flannagan barged in. The light was blinding, the sound hypnotising.

The door clicked shut behind him. All was quiet. All was dark.

…Mr Rogers at No. 43 didn’t like the look of those at No. 39.

This is my entry in this week’s 100 word writing challenge over at Friday Fictioneers.

35 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Suburban Sirens

  1. ramblingsfromamum

    Is it just me? Why am I confused that Mr. Flannagan at # 43 then Mr. Rogers at # 43…oh god I’m sure it’s just me…maybe I need to back away from the computer for a tad 😦

    Reply
  2. Sandra

    Momentarily I was confused, but then I got it. Nice rhythm to this. This is what you get for poking your nose into other people’s business I guess.

    Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      Think in 100 words there is always a chance people might not see exactly what you want or expect them to see. This was perhaps a fairly ambitious tale for such a short format. However, I think I just about pulled it off. I hope. Thanks for your comments.

      Reply
  3. Parul

    Jeez.. Some neighbours are truly strange.. It’s always wise to keep that nose where it belongs. I hope Mr. Rogers is wise.
    Nice work!

    Reply
  4. Joe Owens

    I’m betting this is not the mister rogers of my youth. For his long term health let’s hope not. Poor Mister Flanagan should have left them to be as weird as they wished. Fabulous little story Paul.

    Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      The call of the suburban siren is irresistible. There is no hope for any man at No. 43!

      Thanks for your kind words and taking the time to comment.

      Reply
  5. zookyworld

    Creepy! I like how Flannagan describes having candles on during the day as THAT sort of neighborhood. Just be careful when poking around that sort of house!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

