Friday Fictioneers – Knowledge Transfer

ff240413v2Seth was a man of the stars. He claimed to know it all. Most thought he was barmy.

Old people had died before in the college library. Nobody ever gave it a second thought. Seth had a theory. He had to try.

The gentle motion of the rocking chair ceased. Seth’s eyes closed for the last time.

A shuffling sound came from the top shelf. The books appeared to move slightly to the left. A new one was squeezing its way in.

“The Story of the Stars by Seth Lampwick”. His theory was right. His life’s work wouldn’t be forgotten.

This is my entry in this week’s 100 word writing challenge over at Friday Fictioneers.

50 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Knowledge Transfer

  1. sustainabilitea

    What an interesting idea, Paul! Thank goodness not only the books of those who die in the library are found there. πŸ™‚ I almost felt as if he were somehow seeing this happen. But then, why not? That would be as believable as the rest of the story, right? I’ve always loved the word “barmy”, so thanks for working that in.

    janet

    Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      Thanks Janet. Wasn’t sure if “barmy” was/is a word which would mean the same across the pond. Glad to see it didn’t confuse. Think this is a story I might expand into something longer at some point. Could easily do a 1000 words on old Seth and the library.

      Reply
      1. sustainabilitea

        I read lots of English authors and love “Jeeves and Wooster”, so it’s a very familiar word to me, especially beloved when seen as “Barmy Fotheringay-Phipps”. πŸ™‚

        Forgot to mention that the library story has a Harry Potter feel to it.

        janet

  2. kdillmanjones

    I wasn’t sure if Seth had written a book that appeared on the shelf or if his life had itself turned into a book that appeared on the shelf. (I prefer the later, but love the ambiguity, the interpretation left to readers.) Great story!

    Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      It was the latter i.e the library “consumed” his knowledge as he passed and stuck it in a book. I always felt this was quite a lot to pack into 100 words and I admit there are possibly gaps where you need to be thinking the same as me to really get it. However, you seem to have just about been in sync with my warped imagination. Thanks for commenting!

      Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      Thanks as ever for taking the time to comment Brian. Yes, I quite like this one. Perhaps my favourite 100 word effort so far. Whether others agree is of course a moot point πŸ™‚

      Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      Cheers Bjorn. I agree and I think I will need to find time to make this story longer. So much more background to put in, tales of others who have gone the same way as Seth etc. Could be a fun short story to do.

      Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      Don’t worry. It’s not my time yet. Mind you it might be the only chance I’ll have to get something in print so who knows!? Thanks for commenting.

      Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      Fascinated and flattered by this Harry Potter reference. Do you mean stylistically or does Potter have a library like the one in my story? Thanks for taking the time to comment.

      Reply
  3. elappleby

    HI Paul
    great story, subtle, and brilliantly written. I love the idea of the library writing my book for me, so might head up to my bookcase with my rocking chair… oh, but wait, that means I have to die, right? Hmmm… might do it the long way after all.
    πŸ˜€

    Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      If the Grim Reaper is on his way and you’ve still not had anything published then by all means get comfy in the library rocking chair. Until then best to stick to traditional means!

      p.s. Thanks for your kind words about my story. Means a lot to me when people seem to really like both the content and the actual writing. Cheers!

      Reply
  4. Joe Owens

    Well, I will admit I sometimes feel i am dying to get my book in print, but I am not excited to do it like this! This is a clever and well told tale.

    Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      Wasn’t my first thought for this week’s story. Was going to have something more sinister where the books actually grabbed in unsuspecting baddies. Locked them in forever. However, thought that was a bit similar to my evil collecting tree from a couple of weeks ago so went with this instead. Glad I did. Seems to work quite well. Thanks for commenting.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

