Alastair’s Photo Fiction – A Walk in the Woods

apf090613

Frankie Partington was an explorer. The woods were his world. He saw monsters everywhere. They were his friends. Nobody ever believed his stories.

“Trees don’t talk Frankie”

One summer’s evening his supper lay cooling on the table. His mother knew where he would be.

“Frankie! Dinner!” she cried in the direction of the woods.

Nothing. Half an hour went by. Still nothing. Frankie loved the woods but he also loved his food. This was unusual. Quickly his mother began to panic. His father and their three huskies were dispatched into the trees.

“Frankie! Frankie!” shouted his father. With the light fading he cursed himself for not bringing a torch. That’s when Frankie appeared. Calm. Smiling.

Reunited they headed for home. “Trixie, Lady, Bonnie, come!” Two dogs rushed from between the trees. In the middle distance a pair of eyes watched as the group left. The hushed cries of Bonnie went unnoticed.

This is my entry into this week’s Photo Fiction challenge on Alastair’s WordPress siteThe picture is copyright of http://kattermonran.com/

28 thoughts on “Alastair’s Photo Fiction – A Walk in the Woods

      1. paulmclem Post author

        Good luck (in finishing second!). Seriously though there will no doubt be some great entries. Just fun to enter something with a prize. Feels like stepping things up a level!

      2. Alastair

        It does. If I get near the top three I would be more than happy. I won’t win (I never do 😆 ) but it is something new and different and to a different audience as well. Eek. hehe

      3. paulmclem Post author

        Indeed. Getting your work seen by as many people as possible is key for me. That’s why I do a few challenges each week. A good story to a new audience can mean more followers.

  1. Lyn

    It could have been worse…it could have hurt the little boy. Nice take on the photo prompt. Alastair chose a nice spooky photo for this week 🙂

    Reply
  2. silverliner98

    Excellent! I am shaking in my britches for those parents now! But I wonder if what was out there would have even harmed the boy…and maybe Bonnie was the boy’s “gift” to his monster friends 😛

    Reply
  3. julespaige

    Hmm… I’m a push over for a happy ending where there isn’t one…so I’m thinking Bonnie just noticed one of Frankie’s friends and was a tad afraid to move. Until Frankie returned the next day to find her and bring some leftovers to the monsters… They really loved his mom’s fried chicken 🙂

    Thanks for your visit.

    Reply
      1. julespaige

        That’t the nice thing about open ended fiction…we can go down different roads, especially when the sign posts aren’t spelled out 🙂

  4. Penny L Howe

    HI Paul. Loved your story. Nicely terrifying, most especially for one of the huskies. Interesting that Frankie was calm and smiling however. Sometimes it’s good to have friends in scary places. Especially if they are the scary ones themselves! Well written story. 🙂

    Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      Thanks for the appreciative comment. Had a look at your site and noticed your attempt to start a writing challenge. I’d be up for it but it seems to be quite hard to attract interest. For me there can never be enough opportunities to write! Thanks again for reading my story.

      Reply
      1. neenslewy

        Thanks Paul – I only started my blog in January and I introduced my writing challenge in February after finding many that I enjoyed, since then I have discovered 3 more and realised that many of us blog on these so I hope that in the future (maybe midsummer) I will reintroduce the challenge – in the hope that people will join in.
        From participating in others I am aware of how much time is needed to read all the entries etc. and my original idea was 1000 short stories, maybe I will start with a more manageable idea for both the writer and the reader!

Leave a Reply

