Alastair’s Photo Fiction – Journey’s End

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERATrees cower in submission to the bullying forces of nature. The rain drives down. It’s freezing and worse than that it’s soaking. My coat claimed to be waterproof. Then how come ice tinged water is running down the boney trough provided by my spine? These regrettably expensive shoes aren’t fairing much better. I might as well have come out in a pair of toeless sandals. You get the picture. I’m wet through. I’m miserable. Always happens when I go there.

The weather seems worse than ever. The water filled clouds have sucked most of the light from the day. Gives me the creeps this place. Muggers Alley they call it. Even on a brilliant summer’s morning you can barely see more than a few steps ahead. Out of the gloom a door. My hands tremble. A knock. A pause. Nothing. Then a voice.

“McTavish Dental Surgery, Do you have an appointment?”

These 150’ish words form a first person perspective tale dedicated to the recently departed Scottish writer Iain Banks. I hope he isn’t spinning in his grave at this insult. As an aside it is also my entry into this week’s Photo Fiction challenge on Alastair’s WordPress siteThe picture is copyright of http://kattermonran.com/

12 thoughts on “Alastair’s Photo Fiction – Journey’s End

    1. paulmclem Post author

      Cheers Alastair. About time I tried a first person piece and reading Iain Banks “Wasp Factory” inspired me to try this effort. Enjoyed doing it.

      Reply
  1. zookyworld

    You set up the scene with great descriptions — I could feel the rain and see the gloomy alley. And, of course, could feel the trembling about dental surgery!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

