Friday Fictioneers – A World of Difference

ff190613

Cody Potterman was a dreamer. No barrier too high. No target out of reach. Cody wanted to be a soldier. His father though was a realist. Forever showering his son’s ambitious plans in icy cold water.

“Cody son. Boys don’t do soldiering. It’s too dangerous for the likes of you and me. Leave all that to the women. They keep us safe. That’s the way it is.”

Cody sighed. He knew his father was right but why? Would things ever change?

Suddenly Cody’s father clutched his stomach. He looked in agony.

“Cody, quick. Ouch. Ooh. Get yer mother son. The baby, aah, it’s on its way…hurry!”

This is my entry in this week’s 100 word writing challenge over at Friday Fictioneers.

59 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – A World of Difference

    1. paulmclem Post author

      Thanks Pirate. Didn’t actually spot it was a woman at first but on closer inspection it became obvious. After that the story possibilities were endless. Glad you enjoyed it.

      Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      Certainly one of my favourites (of mine) so far. The story came almost instantly and the tagline was the icing on the cake. Thanks for commenting!

      Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      A man becoming a soldier? Hmmm. Think in Cody’s world it will be a tough ask to achieve that. Perhaps a nurse or a househusband would be better.

      Reply
  1. Linda Vernon

    Hah! Be careful what you ask for! (I thought the guard was a boy — ormaybe boy George? Okay, now I’m really gender confused and your story didn’t help any! HA HA! :D)

    Reply
  2. julespaige

    I too am in line with what others have stated. Loved the switch…but then I’ve heard that guys passing kidney stones…can be just as painful…without anything to love…just a stone in a jar.
    🙂

    Reply
  3. marymtf

    Mm, Paul, nice take on that photo. But speaking for myself, I liked giving birth. No, I’m not a .masochist. I remember having midnight conversations with my particular human beings (had two) for months, the kicking child inside and the excitement of finally getting to meet face to face. I wouldn’t have given that experience up for quids. 🙂

    Reply
  4. neenslewy

    Great role reversal – and I adored reading the opening – love the character’s name and the clipped sentences that hauled me in!

    Cody Potterman was a dreamer. No barrier too high. No target out of reach. Cody wanted to be a soldier.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

