Friday Fictioneers – The Perils of Modern Living

ff260613

The interstate north of Lake Finsmore was an accident black spot like no other. Countless lives lost. The locals were beginning to think nobody cared. It was shameful of the authorities not to act.

Old Harry squinted both ways as he went to cross. His eyesight wasnโ€™t what it once was.

Is that a bus? How far away is it? Damn it!

The safety of the other side was somehow reached. Would he be so lucky tomorrow?

Harryโ€™s struggles were witnessed by Frank the county Ranger. He cared more than most. If it was up to Frank that hedgehog tunnel would have been built years ago.

This is my entry in this week’s 100 word writing challenge over atย Friday Fictioneers.

63 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – The Perils of Modern Living

  1. Helena Hann-Basquiat

    Ha! Here I thought it was going to be some old codger with failing eyesight, and you threw me for a loop. We don’t have hedgehogs here (except as pets, can you believe it?) but squirrels, skunks and raccoon aplenty. We actually have a family of raccoon (a mum and her four pups) living right outside our window, and I’ve seen them crossing the street in the morning — I guess I DO have a maternal instinct, because I desperately want to jump in the middle of the road and stop traffic (well, you know, more than I usually do, darling) so make sure they’re safe.

    Reply
  2. Wanderer

    Just when I thought I was being original…. I suppose I shall just say “great minds think alike” and all that. I was not expecting the ending–well done!

    Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      For me a good idea is a good idea no matter how many people have it. Trick is to do your best with that idea and be as original as possible. Like to think we both did that. Thanks for commenting.

      Reply
  3. zookyworld

    Whew! Harry made it! Life’s hard out there for elderly hedgehogs. That twist was a lot of fun — and I’m glad Harry has someone watching out for him.

    Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      Tricky in such a short space i.e. a few lines, not for the eye to drift and catch the final few words by accident. Thankfully most seem to have saved the twist till the end. Thanks for the comment.

      Reply
  4. tonyroberts64

    Funny! You sucked me in. My father had the experience of blacking out while crossing the road and almost got hit. But he’s not a hedgehog. If he were, I’d agree, there should be tunnels.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

