Ahoy Trifectans!

whoamiAs a regular entrant into the creative writing challenges hosted by the Trifectan gang  I thought it time to let my fellow writers know a bit more about me. Not a lot more but enough to be going on with!

1. What is your name (real or otherwise)?

My name is not a pseudonym. I am not anonymous. I really am Paul Clements.

2. Describe your writing style in three words. 

Raw. Developing. Mine.

3. How long have you been writing online? 

My main web output over the last 15 years was a sports site on which I wrote match reports for my local football team. This has now closed. I needed another vehicle for writing and so turned to creative fiction. I have been telling made up stories since March 2013 i.e. just a newbie!

4. Which, if any, other writing challenges do you participate in? 

Other than the Trifecta and Trifextra challenges I regularly submit entries to:

Friday Fictioneers got me started in creative fiction. 100 words or so of flash based on a Wednesday prompt. No idea why it is called Friday Fictioneers!

Alastair’s Photo Fiction is a Sunday photo prompt requiring a story in the vicinity of 150 words.

5. Describe one way in which you could improve your writing. 

By taking a creative writing course. I plan to do an online one later in 2013. Feel it is important to put some solid foundations in place. I may think I have some ability when it comes to writing but it’s important to get the basics right.

6. What is the best writing advice you’ve ever been given?

Not been at this long enough to have been given advice from anybody yet. That will no doubt come in due course. However, the best piece of advice I’ve read is to keep on writing. Don’t get too obsessed with editing and reviewing. Just go with the flow of the story and when the flow stops then you can review and edit.

7. Who is your favorite author?  

Confession! I’m not a constant reader. I will go through phases of reading a lot then phases of not reading very much. Also never been a person who really has favourite anythings i.e. bands, singers, authors. There are those I like but none I obsess over. These would include JRR Tolkien, George RR Martin, Joe Abercrombie and Steven Erikson. Some of my favourite reading over the years has actually been non-fiction.

8. How do you make time to write?

Writing has been a hobby in one guise or another for many years. As such I will always find time to do it. Watching less television is one way to make time if you’re really struggling!

9. Give us one word we should consider using as a prompt. Remember–it must have a third definition. 

Fantasy

10. Direct us to one blog post of yours that we shouldn’t miss reading.

Well so far in my first few weeks doing the Trifecta weekly challenges I’ve managed a third and a second place. This was the story which got me the second place and I think it is one my best so far. For a non-Trifecta piece this is one my favourite.

Above is correct as of today i.e. 28th June 2013. Beyond that I can give no guarantees to its accuracy!

6 thoughts on “Ahoy Trifectans!

    1. paulmclem Post author

      Very flattering comments Joe but I’ll take them! Still got a lot to learn but I’m pleased with the progress I’ve made in the short few months I’ve been at this. Plenty more in me! Hope you will continue to enjoy my work over the coming weeks and months. Thanks again!

      Reply
      1. Joe Owens

        I don’t post a lot of my fiction on here. I have a novel length I am editing now to get ready to shop it by fall. Do you do any novel length writing?

      2. paulmclem Post author

        In general my plan is to stick to short stories and flash fiction until I have a better grasp of the art. That said I do have 100 pages of something which I plan to finish over the next year and return to when I feel the time is right to focus on a novel.

Leave a Reply

