Trifextra 74 – Homage to the Homonym

english-is-fun

One you tie, one you take, one you draw.

The first is a bow.

The second is a bow.

The third is a bow.

trifecta

These 24 words form my entry into the Trifextra 74 writing challenge.

Think I am possibly stretching the limits of the brief but in my defence it is one sentence followed by three which are saying the same thing i.e. it’s similar to the prompt! I’d also say by the time I wrote mine a lot of good ideas had been taken so I had no choice but to lurch to the fringes for something a bit different. 

33 thoughts on “Trifextra 74 – Homage to the Homonym

  1. Bryan Ens

    making three sentences that look identical have completely different meanings was a brilliant take on the prompt.

    Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      Thanks Bryan. Your entry forced me to get the thinking cap on. Not totally sure mine is what they asked for but what the heck. I’m still high on today’s second place so I’m up for something risky 🙂

      Reply
      1. Bryan Ens

        three things to do when in a situation like this: 1 – break the rules. 2 – break the rules. 3 – break the rules! 🙂

  2. Scriptor Obscura

    Best one so far. This must really confuse people learning English, all these pronunciations…
    I’m sure there’s the same sort of thing in other languages too.

    Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      Thanks Suzanne. Yep, well pleased to make the top three twice in recent weeks. Encourages me that I am making progress! Thanks again for commenting.

      Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      Glad it made you chuckle. Also thanks for giving me the platform on which to try and progress my story telling. Very early days but to have placed a couple of times amongst so many good writers is very encouraging.

      Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      Kind words Tom. The WordPress community really is giving me the encouragement I need to keep writing. I probably would anyway as it’s something I love doing but it helps to know what I am doing is appreciated. Thanks again!

      Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      Possibly not exactly what was asked for but I thought it was worth submitting. A few others have pushed the boundaries so what the heck! Thanks again for commenting on one of my pieces.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

