A Change of Image

blog_updateWhen I started this blog the idea was that it would be like most other blogs i.e. a bit of everything that was going on in my life. However, I have to confess the majority of content has become concentrated in one direction, creative fiction. That’s not to say I will not continue to post pieces on other areas of my existence. I will but creative fiction is now my hobby and WordPress is a good vehicle for it so that’s that. Apologies to anybody who has followed me and is getting bored of stories. Feel free to unfollow. I won’t be offended.

In keeping with the dominant theme of this blog my live-in photographic editor has come up with a stunning new header image. Both parts of the image are from our recent holiday in Cornwall and were actually taken in blue skies and sunshine. However, some nifty editing has given the banner a more moody, introspective look. Yes, that sounds pretentious but what the heck. In for a penny, in for a pound etc. Just to add that neither image was posed. They were just general shots of me on beaches and rocky outcrops. The genius is in the picture selection and the editing. For that I am indebted to my better half!

One other change to point out. The menu bar along the top now has five options. Home and About are self explanatory. An introduction to the other three:

Fantasy World – In here are all of my creative fiction pieces. Also anything generally writing related will be stored here.

Real World – This menu option is where all the non-creative fiction blog entries are held.

Best of Me – This is a page on which I will link to what I think are my best stories at any point in time. This will be a quick way for somebody to get an introduction to my writing.

If you’re staying I hope you continue to enjoy the content I provide. If you’re leaving then the time you’ve spent with me has been much appreciated!

6 thoughts on “A Change of Image

    1. paulmclem Post author

      Thanks. The banner has an almost haunting feel. My other half is a real whizz with the camera. We make a good team. I deal with words and she provides the images!

      Reply
  1. Joe Owens

    Hey paul. I tired to post over the weekend from my Windows Phone but it did not go right. Basically I wanted to say I think you have a future in fiction writing and i wish you the best. Also, I have created something on Paper.li to celebrate the best fiction posted each day on a few blogging sites, including WordPress, hubpages and Helium. If you are interested in looking at it let me know. I hope to pull in several of the Friday Fictioneers and make a daily paper that highlights fiction all in one place. You can see it at this link, http://paper.li/Mentaca/1291837294 but it only has one post today.

    Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      Appreciate your comments on my writing. Yep, I’ve seen these paper.li things before. Seem quite popular. Would be more than happy for you to include my stories on there when you think they merit it!

      Reply
      1. Joe Owens

        I need to figure out how to get your fiction to feed to it. One way is to give you an add button. Let me research that. When we get four five contributors we will do a promotion on the blogs to get people interested in viewing. I hope to enlist some of the Fictioneers.

Leave a Reply

