Friday Fictioneers – Wheel Love

ff140813With each dawn he’d leave her; until his return at dusk she would watch for him. Pining.

Her branches ached for his firm white body, the ‘come to bed’ headlights, the deep, thick tread of his Michelin radials. She longed to get closer, but he remained agonisingly distant: her trunk too stiff to bend and reach out. To touch him was her dream.

Then came the wind.

Her roots were ripped from the soil; life was flowing from her, but she didn’t care – they were together: locked in a blissful embrace until the tow truck stole her love away.

friday-fictioneers

This is my entry into this weeks 100 word challenge over atΒ Friday Fictioneers.

32 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Wheel Love

  1. kz

    sweet take ^^ i swear i read somewhere that “nothing in this world can love like a tree can” or something like that πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      Cheers Kz. As soon as I looked at the photo I thought “tree hugging car”. Two minutes later I’d written this story. I agree it’s kinda sweet. Anyway why can’t a tree love a car. I’m all for it πŸ™‚

      Reply
  2. summerstommy2

    Hi Paul if I could add some criticism I would leave out the tow truck, I think it takes away from the romance. Up till then you captured the sense of a love never realised. Well done.

    Reply
    1. summerstommy2

      My question is why does the story need that. It works beautifully with the embrace as an ending.
      Just being a critic Paul.

      Reply
      1. paulmclem Post author

        Fair point Summer. My gut feeling would be to leave the tow truck reference in. I think I saw it as a way of returning to the harsh realities of separation i.e. their love was never meant to be.

  3. neenslewy

    Awwww fantastic – I love these surreal personifications – this is the neatest one I have read so far …. wow cross species lust is one thing…. a tree and a car….. do you think that’s how Eco-Cars were born?
    Brilliant – if you had a 5 star rating this would most definitely be ALL 5!
    I can’t find the words – I just want to continue to gush – fabulous, funny and the tow truck at the end…. almost Romeo and Juliet!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

