Trifecta 92 – Banged to Rights

15-three-strikes

I hated almost every minute of working in that place, especially having to deal with that power crazed shit: him with the blackboard and his ‘strikes’. Every day he’d creep around the centre putting the fear of God into the snot nosed kids who staffed the place. I can see him now: one hand scratching his balls, the other tossing his chalk into the air. So many times I felt like reaching out for that damned chalk and ramming it down his throat. However, I was on two strikes; that would have probably made it three.

I remember one morning he sloped past my desk – he rarely looked me in the eye. He was just itching to give me another strike but didn’t have the guts. He knew how much money I was pulling in. More importantly the real bosses knew. A few feet further up the office he paused and out it came – his catchphrase:

‘Let me say it in language you might understand. This ain’t damn bowling friend: a turkey round here and you disappear – one strike left. Am I making myself clear?’

The spotty sixteen year old he’d just chewed out was shaking. The poor bastard looked almost on the verge of tears.  I gave the kid a quick thumbs up and a wink – it brought a smile back to his face. However, I’m not going to shit you: as bad as it was I was actually making some good money.

There were other benefits to working there: we thought we’d kept it quiet – the prick was meant to be out of town at a conference. Him coming back and catching his daughter and me going at it like Easter bunnies kinda signaled the end of my career in the centre.

He almost died when I turned up for work the next day.

‘Don’t worry I won’t be staying’

Heading straight for his blackboard I marked up my third strike – had to admit I’d probably earned it.

trifecta

These 333 words, based on the Tenpin bowling ‘turkey’, form my entry into the Trifecta 92 writing challenge.

15 thoughts on “Trifecta 92 – Banged to Rights

    1. paulmclem Post author

      Thanks Jo-Anne. Not convinced this style of story is particularly enjoyed by the Trifecta masses but such is life. I’m not going to pander to an audience at this stage in my writing development. What I feel needs to be written will be written. If nothing else it keeps people guessing. Appreciate you reading and commenting as ever.

      Reply
  1. Tom MacInnes (@cobourgcobbie)

    I guess the obvious response to this, at least from a guy’s pov is, if ya gotta get that third strike, what a great and fitting way to go! Bang the girl! Screw yourself. F*ck the boss! A definite turkey of sexual strikes. Well played, sir. 🙂

    Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      Glad you liked it Tom. I did actually intend to use a least one occurrence of ‘fucking’ but it fell out between drafts. I assume most of my US/Canadian cousins will have heard ‘prick’ before – on reading again I wasn’t sure if that was perhaps a UK slang word. Thanks for reading.

      Reply
  2. jannatwrites

    I like the unique use of turkey here. Probably not a good idea to mess around with the boss’ daughter….especially this one. I’ve worked for power-wielding jerks before and sometimes the urge to get back outweighs the possible consequences 🙂

    Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      Cheer Janna. I played with the prompt for a few minutes before coming up with the sentence in which it appears. The whole story was then written around that sentence. Not an easy prompt but I’m happy enough with what I did. Thanks for reading.

      Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      Thanks as ever for your thoughts Trifecta peeps. Glad you liked it. Wasn’t sure if this sort of style would go down well, but it’s good a few have found it fun. To be fair it was an absolute beast of a prompt, but I’m pleased with the way I managed to work it into a meaningful sentence. Cheers!

      Reply
  3. KymmInBarcelona

    Love the prick spouting poetry! (And here I thought prick was New England slang… haha)
    I do wonder exactly how ‘Easter’ bunnies go at it… lol
    Definitely the way to go if you’re going out anyway. Fun read.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

