Friday Fictioneers – Reunion Station

ff280813Waiting tables in the grill I’d catch a glimpse of her at the concession stand. With her glistening blond hair and blood red nails she was the very definition of feminine elegance to a fifteen year old.

Today was the first time I’d been back at the station in what seemed like forever. As my wife queued with the kids in McDonald’s I couldn’t help myself; I had to see if she was still there.

She was.

As elegant as ever – maybe even more so. A few years older, but just as I remembered: the way I will always remember my first true love.

friday-fictioneers

This is my entry into this weeks 100 word challenge over at Friday Fictioneers.

35 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Reunion Station

  1. summerstommy2

    Good one Paul. I think everyone remembers their first love, impossible as it was then. I like how you have evoked memories for me.

    Reply
  2. JackieP

    I liked this. I remember my first real crush, I was a young 14 he a grown up 18. Ah young love never dies. 🙂

    Reply
  3. dmmacilroy

    Dear Paul,

    What a great story. Well written, simple, yet powerful. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I’d have gone to look, too. That you plucked this story out of the picture was quite unique and wonderful. Thank you.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      Cheers Doug. As soon as I saw the picture I thought of a more basic love story between a waiter/dishwasher in the Grill and a glamorous woman on the concession stand. It quickly became this because of the POV and the word limit. Thanks for commenting.

      Reply
  4. Jan Brown

    We humans are a shallow species! Our first “loves” are often anything BUT love. Blonde hair and red nails? Typical male fantasy. Not that women are any less ruled by the laws of physical attraction. Somewhere there is a fitness instructor, athlete or actor that your jewelry counter girl is remembering with fondness!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

