Trifecta 95 – My Inspiration

coolclips__vc003231

Looking back, it was probably the most important day of my life. I was only eight, but I remember every moment as if I was there now. Today of all days it seems sharper than ever.

It was winter, early January; the windows on my Dad’s study were frosted over. The fireplace crackled as another log submitted to the flames. My Dad hated the cold. Always did, right up to the end.

We often used to spend hours in his study – just us boys. He would be tapping away at his keyboard; I’d be fixing the wing onto a 747, or just watching Dad. He always had an answer for everything. I knew he would that day too.

‘Dad?’ I asked.

‘What is it Joey?’ he replied, glancing up from his work.

‘Why is it wrong to chase a rainbow?’

‘Who said it was son?’

‘Mr Jones at school. He tells everybody that. I like rainbows. I don’t understand.’

‘Well son, what he means is not to chase impossible dreams. But you take it from your old Dad – you aim for the impossible. The more impossible the better. Even if you don’t find it you’ll likely still achieve plenty. You can tell Mr Jones that I said that.’

With that he smiled his all knowing smile before turning back to the screen. Satisfied and happy I carried on struggling with pesky wing of my 747.

I never did tell Mr Jones what Dad said. However, I took Dad’s advice and aimed high. Heck, there were disappointments along the way. Plenty of doubts. My Dad’s words though never left me and I kept chasing. It wasn’t easy but I’ve done pretty well: small chain of bookstores over three states. I wanted one in every state, and one in each country over the world. Didn’t get it, but trying got me this far.

Today we said goodbye to my Dad. He died a proud man – proud of a son who wasn’t afraid to dream.

trifecta

These 333 words, based on the third definition of the word rainbow‘ , form my entry into the Trifecta 95 writing challenge.

26 thoughts on “Trifecta 95 – My Inspiration

    1. paulmclem Post author

      Thanks Jo-Anne. Have to admit I really struggled with this prompt: felt like I was being forced to use a cliche. My mind just wasn’t having it. Eventually by turning the cliche into a question I managed to come up with this. Some weeks I find the prompts restricting because of the awkwardness of the definition – this was one such week. Thanks for commenting.

      Reply
      1. paulmclem Post author

        Thanks again Jo-Anne. Still a bit frustrated. Was on a role the last two weeks and I feel like I’ve been backed into something I didn’t really want to do. However, I did my best given the prompt. Hopefully next week will see us given more freedom.

  1. jannatwrites

    I think your story turned out well – touching and sweet. I have to agree with the struggle on the prompt word – so easy to get an eye-rolling cliche out of it. I turned mine into a question, too!

    Reply
  2. trifectawriting

    You’ve used the prompt in a pure and dignified way and your story is uplifting with a message that should never fail. Nice write and thanks for linking up.

    Just a grammar point: when we say Mum or Dad as in the name we call them we use a capital. If we are just mentioning my mum or dad, we don’t 🙂

    Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      Thanks as ever for your encouraging comments Trifecta peeps.

      Yep, I actually Googled “Dad”, as I wasn’t sure when proof reading the story. Is it a case of if you could replace mum/dad with a name i.e. ‘Is Mum/Dad in?’ could also work as ‘Is Peter/Mary in?’ then you capitalise. However, if you couldn’t replace it with a name i.e. ‘My dad is a legend’ doesn’t work as ‘My Peter is a legend’ you don’t get a capital?

      Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      Oh no. Definitely fiction. My dad is very much alive and well 🙂

      Yep, this was a tricky prompt this week. Not my favourite but still an interesting challenge.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

