Friday Fictioneers – An Audience With The Emperor

ff091013In the sultry, sticky air of a Tuscan summer’s evening we prepared by flickering candlelight. Backstage was alive with the combustible blend of  laughter, tension and tears generated wherever Rome’s most famed thespian egos collided.

It was soon time – time to perform for Caesar!

Rushing into position I reflected once more on the inspiring words of Sextus, my beloved old acting teacher:

‘Make it a great performance Aurelius, or your next might be at the Coliseum!’

It went without saying that being supporting cast to a lion wasn’t a move likely to advance any acting career.

A silent prayer was offered;

The curtains slowly parted.

friday-fictioneers

This is my entry into this week’s 100 word challenge over at Friday Fictioneers.

29 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – An Audience With The Emperor

  1. Linda Vernon

    Oh Paul, this is just fantastic! Your second line: “Backstage was alive with the combustible blend of laughter, tension and tears generated wherever Rome’s most famed thespian egos collided” I just love the way you imagined and worte this little slice of ancient Rome. I was right there.

    Reply
  2. sustainabilitea

    You brought the past to life humorously. I must say I appreciated it more once I realized your first sentence said “Tuscan”. I was reading too quickly, saw “Tuscon” and did a double take when I got to “Rome.” 🙂

    janet

    Reply
  3. DCTdesigns

    Being a supporting cast to a Lion- Great line. I married a Leo once does that count? My own thespian ego felt your words like a memory of another time. “Backstage was alive with the combustible blend of laughter, tension and tears” Great!

    Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      It is indeed my take on a Roman thespian equivalent of “break a leg”. However, I think theirs was was more romantically phrased – also more threatening 🙂

      Reply
  4. draliman

    Brilliant. I loved the not-very-veiled threat of the consequences of disappointing Caesar! Maybe it was meant in jest when Sextus said it, but I’m sure it inspired Aurelius to act his heart out 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

