Trifecta 104 – A Life For A Life

Companionship__Kenya_Africa

I never asked to spend my life with him. It’s just what we do. The Prince must have his companion. He couldn’t be expected to cope on his own, not even for a minute.

Someone must be there. Willing. Forever.

That’s where I came in.

When the fourth Prince Danzal was presented to an expectant country I was already on my way to the palace. It was something our family has always done. My father spent his life with a King, my only sister never left the side of her Princess. I think it’s our dedication to the role – our uniqueness.  We do have our own lives, families, memories but we don’t bother our employer with them. We are here for their cares, not to burden their important lives with ours. Precisely the way it should be.

I can’t complain – not that I would think of doing so. The Prince led a glamorous life. I may have been in the background, out of sight, but I was there, just a nod or a wave of the Princes’ finger away. However, I didn’t always have to be told when I was needed. As I said we were especially good at this job. I knew when the Prince needed me, sometimes before he did. My whole family were the same.

I could see before anyone else that the Prince was dying. I sensed that cloud over his heart well before the damn fool of a court physician. I knew, could see, that there was no point in fighting it. It was time to make peace and accept the end with grace.

Both of us.

We never leave our charge, even after their life is over. As the Prince coughed his last bloody cough I was immediately sent to keep him company. I expected nothing less. My wife and son were heartbroken but understood. It’s just part of the job.

I’m still looking for him. He’s around here somewhere. I can sense it; sense him. I’m sure he needs me.

trifecta

These 333 words, based on the third definition of the word ‘companion‘ , form my entry into the Trifecta 104 writing challenge. The picture is courtesy of Open Road Integrated Media

17 thoughts on “Trifecta 104 – A Life For A Life

  1. mahabore

    Such a beautiful take on the prompt. I have always had this fascination for what would be going through the minds of these squires and maids, and you seem to have given a voice to them through this post. Lovely post.

    Reply
  2. trifectawriting

    I need a babysitter with this level of dedication. 🙂 I really enjoyed the POV of this piece. Interesting getting a first-hand glimpse into a lifestyle I can’t even fathom. Thanks for linking up.

    Reply
  3. TNT

    The picture of the monkeys makes me think your feelings for your lead are not pleasant? That his loyalty to leave his family behind for a dead prince is blatant stupidity. It’s not my place to probe your brain or work; you know the answers.

    “Precisely the way it should be.” The voice you were able to muster fit your theme. Showing nice range of style in your work. A good work. I’d be interested in reading what you’re trying to provoke by it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

