Sunday Photo Fiction – Discovery

37-12-december-8th-2013

The whole of Knoxville had been waiting years for this day – heck, maybe even the whole of Texas. It was set to be the biggest and best World’s Fair of all time. The future of mankind surely depended on it.

From a mile away the Sunsphere glittered: a golden beacon calling forward the people of the planet to learn how life after 1982 would be. As a fourteen year old I fully expected to play my part. Physics was already a passion – theories, equations, proofs; showing people how it all works. That’s what I would do;  it’s what I was meant to do.

The fair on that steamy summer’s day was electric with inspiration. While most other kids were content with the scientific trickery and Son et lumière on display I was here for more. It was then that they caught my eye. I was captured, ensnared. It was the moment my life changed forever.

Those blond curls, the cold steel blue eyes and that smile which formed the cutest of dimples. It was my big breakthrough: the most important discovery I would ever make. It certainly was a fair which shaped the future of the world, well, mine at least.

spf

These words form my entry into this week’s Sunday Photo Fiction challenge. 

13 thoughts on “Sunday Photo Fiction – Discovery

      1. Al

        Yeah I think I will try for a lighter note. I was in a hurry to get this out as I had forgotten to schedule it when I went to bed last night. Think I will schedule next week’s today 😉

Leave a Reply

