Friday Fictioneers – Identifying Marks

ff190314From her chair at the kitchen table, Anna watches as Josef’s head turns towards the window. They can both hear them: the troops marching along the cobbled streets below their fifth floor flat. Her son may only be six, but in the Prague of 1941 children grow up quickly – he already knows these soldiers are ‘bad men‘ and has vowed to protect his mother while father remains away.

Picking up Josef’s thin summer coat, Anna resumes her work. Licking the thread she carefully feeds the fine white cotton into the eye of the needle. As she stitches, the bright yellow star glows gently in the warm morning sunlight.

friday-fictioneers

These words form my entry into this week’s Friday Fictioneers photo prompt challenge.

32 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Identifying Marks

    1. paulmclem Post author

      Thanks, Rochelle. Have to say the Star of David was what I saw straight away. Whether other people also saw it and chose to ignore it I’m not sure. However, I hope the story I wrote wasn’t in any way too upsetting for those with family ties to this period of world history. I knew this was potentially a risky area to write about but I’d like to think what I wrote was more poignant than any attempt to shock.

      Cheers,

      PaulC.

      Reply
  1. Pingback: Friday Fictioneers – Stars | The Blurred Line

  2. Nan Falkner

    All these years, studying World War II and what they did to the Jewish people makes me so sad and I pray this never happens again, however, listening to the news each night makes me think it is still happening in different areas of the world. Very well written and poignant! Nan

    Reply

Leave a Reply

