Yeah Write #158 Gargleblaster – Self Defence

doubt

…because I have life still to live –

Stories to tell,

People to love.

Yet, sometimes it’s hard:

Hard to repel the doubt;

An exhausting struggle to let sanity prevail.

But then I see her smile and know:

Know we’re worth the fight.

These 42 words form my entry into this weeks Gargleblaster challenge over at Yeah Write. The words were prompted by the question ‘Tell me something, old friend: why are you fighting?I hope you enjoy where I went with it.

26 thoughts on “Yeah Write #158 Gargleblaster – Self Defence

    1. paulmclem Post author

      Heh, thanks a lot Karen. I like to try anything, whether it be 6 or 6000 words. Over the coming months I plan on putting up some of my short stories as well as more episodic forays into fictional worlds. Some will be good, others maybe not so. However, at the moment I’m just trying to get a feel for what I’m best at, as well as perhaps what I enjoy most. Appreciate your comments.

      Reply
  1. Kir Piccini

    I am a sucker for a romantic devil, for a smile that can dispel insanity and bring the sun from behind the clouds.
    Every day is a battle but there are people (smiles) in your camp that make it easier to toil on.

    as always, what a brilliant 42.

    Reply
  2. jenbrunett

    I love that it starts out so singular and alone. Then it comes full circle to “We”. This was lovely.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

