Yeah Write #161 Gargleblaster – The Stuff of Nightmares

buried

Cool, clammy soil crushes down on breaking ribs.

Unshed tears remain sealed behind closed eyelids.

A wireworm burrows its way into bulging veins;

A beetle clicks.

Silence begets darkness –

No air to breathe, no voice to scream.

My final hope:

To wake.

These 42 words form my entry into this week’s Gargleblaster challenge over at Yeah Write. The words were prompted by the question ‘Is something crawling on me?. I hope you enjoy where I went with it. Thanks again to everybody who voted for my ‘Crowd Fave’ piece last week, much appreciated!

31 thoughts on “Yeah Write #161 Gargleblaster – The Stuff of Nightmares

  1. fatgirlinboxinggloves

    There are so many great lines (and images) here. My favorites are: “A beetle clicks/ Silence begets darkness.” I wish this piece was longer. I would love to see where it goes. Beautiful work.

    Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      Thanks. Have to admit this one was a bit of a struggle. Thought of the idea straight away but getting it to work in 42 was tricky – almost didn’t bother to post. However, some last gasp changes just about saved the day. Pleased you saw something in it.

      Reply
      1. Jo-Anne Teal

        I agree completely with Tom’s comments so I’ll say ditto. I could smell wet sand and feel the clammy environment. This really grabs the reader! Excellent.

  2. Christine

    Dark and nightmarish – you captured hopelessness and terror really well. Great job, Paul – thanks for linking up!

    Reply
  3. Meg

    Nicely done! I especially liked the line “a beetle clicks.” I had a dream about a click beetle once, before I knew they existed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

