Friday Fictioneers – The Other Side of the Tracks

ff280514Shards of late autumn sun creep between the houses on the hill. Rattling bikes carry puffing, ruddy-cheeked riders over cobblestones towards the University, royal blue scarves flapping in the breeze.

A hint of coming winter chills my throat as I pause to catch a nervous breath. The gatekeeper turns towards me, his black top-hat almost hiding his eyes.

Can he tell?

Do I look different?

My mother’s words provide a lone, reassuring voice.

You’re as good as them, son, never forget.

Clutching my scholarship papers, I lift my head and walk through the arch.

The gatekeeper nods;

Their world, now my world.

friday-fictioneers

These words form my entry into this week’s Friday Fictioneers photo prompt challenge.

21 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – The Other Side of the Tracks

  1. Honie Briggs

    The mother in me loves that the lone, reassuring voice really does sink in as he lifts his head certain “their world, now my world.” If there were a “like this very much” button, I would have clicked it. Excellent!

    Reply
  2. elmowrites

    You conjure your imagery beautifully here, then take us inside the fresher’s nerves. Don’t worry, kid, we’re all different on the inside!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

