Friday Fictioneers – The Principles of Youth

ff300714‘Red’ Pete was as left-wing as they came. Few on campus could match his fire for hard-line, unforgiving, Marxist-Leninist rhetoric. Even within the sanctum of his own set you had to be wary of expressing the wrong opinions to Pete: get in his bad books and you’d be labelled ‘capitalist swine’; sometimes he’d say it with a smile, sometimes not.

Pete and I stayed close over the years, but drifted as friends. I still see him most days at work – ‘Sir’ Peter on his way to the boardroom, me on my way to the factory floor.

I like to think he’s still a revolutionary at heart.

friday-fictioneers

These words form my entry into this week’s Friday Fictioneers photo prompt challenge.

10 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – The Principles of Youth

  1. Sandra

    I liked this. It reminded me of the line that goes something like “I have this set of political principles… but if you don’t like these I have others you might…” Great take on the prompt, Paul.

    Reply
  2. rochellewisoff

    Dear Paul,

    Such clever use of the prompt with “left wing.” And one could say, “How far the lofty hath fallen.” Well constructed with layer upon layer.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Reply
  3. dmmacilroy

    Dear Paul,

    This story flies well all on its own, but I must say I dearly love the connection to the photo. Very clever and very well imagined and executed. High marks for you this week.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    Reply
  4. patriciaruthsusan

    Paul, I read one time that people tend to become more conservative as they age, and I’ve seen it happen. I also read that some “hippies” years ago wore long wigs when they weren’t at work, and looked competely conservative at their offices. People often change. Well written and creative. 🙂 —Susan

    Reply
  5. Nan Falkner

    Dear Paul, Great idea – I thought about the left wing vs. the right wing too but I was afraid I’d have everyone hating me if I said I sit on the other side of the plane. Oh well, to each his own! Enjoyable story! Nan 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

