Friday Fictioneers – Peace Convoy

ff200814Hot, orange fires crackled amongst the ruins of what was once our street. Overhead, a whirring helicopter circled through the threatening, grey skies. From between the smouldering rubble a small, red-haired girl stepped forward. As the Soldiers watched, the girl carefully placed her posy of dandelions through the steaming grill of the first truck in the line: our liberation had begun.

I remained next to my mother. She had been very cold for sometime, but help was now here.

‘You there, boy, come with me,’ said the kind looking man.

‘But, my mother…,’ I said.

I didn’t look back as they loaded me onto the truck – I knew we’d already said our goodbyes.
friday-fictioneers

These words form my entry into this week’s Friday Fictioneers photo prompt challenge.

15 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Peace Convoy

  1. Sarah Ann

    Very sad. Like the colour palette – the dandelions and girl’s hair blending in with fires raging around. I hope these young characters can move on without bitterness.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

