Friday Fictioneers – The Games People Play

ff170914The acrid smell of freshly spilt blood laced the fine, evening mists which swirled across the field of battle. From the hillside the Royal Prince and his brother watched on, the first-born planning his next move.

NxB4,’ came the order.

I was the only black horseman left – they had to mean me. The Board-master pointed his golden staff towards B4; I geed up my sweating mount and trotted slowly forwards. On the edge of the square a pathetic, shivering old man knelt in prayer – he knew the game and had accepted his fate.

‘Forgive me,’ I whispered, as I drew my sword.

friday-fictioneers

These words form my entry into this week’s Friday Fictioneers photo prompt challenge.

25 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – The Games People Play

  1. J

    A VERY interesting take on the prompt — a great way to use those squares. 🙂
    And your final two sentences make the “game” oh so real. Well done.

    Reply
  2. siobhanmcnamara

    Well told as a story in itself and as a metaphor for the bigger picture of war-games. The board master with the golden staff is never the one who has to look into the eyes of the man being killed

    Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      Thanks, Doug.

      ps. I can’t help but notice that when you comment on my stories it’s almost always at exactly the same time as Rochelle – you’re not the same person are you 🙂

      Reply
  3. aliciajamtaas

    Oh, each man had a sad fate. The swordsman and the old man. (Glad Doug mentioned chess. Since I don’t play, I would have been left in the dark – no fault of yours. Maybe I should take up chess.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

