Rising From the Ashes of Despair

45Ok, perhaps despair is overdoing it, but I must admit to being somewhat crushed after my lifelong (adult life!) desire for Scottish independence came up short. However, from those smouldering ashes now comes a renewed energy and passion for blogging. I started this site a couple of years ago with all sorts of plans for regular articles on all sorts of subjects. Rather quickly this descended into a steady, if sometimes intermittent, stream of creative fiction – that will not stop;however, it’s time to get back  to you reading and me writing about the other stuff* in my head.

*’Stuff‘ gets stuck in my brain, I talk to myself a lot and I’ve decided one solution to heal this endless internal waffle is to write it down. Hopefully you’ll find enough of it interesting to hang around.

Why 45? Well, 45% is what the ‘YES’ vote garnered in Thursday’s referendum. Rather than sit around moping (which we did for a few hours) those who backed independence have declared their intention to keep campaigning for greater Scottish democracy. If you’re not one of the 45%, don’t worry – moving forward what you did in the past is irrelevant – this is now about the future. The support for an independent Scotland rose from 25% to 45% in the last two years. Think about that for a moment. Then factor in a changing demographic, more undoubted disappointment and betrayal from Westminster parties, and a growing self belief and positive vision for our country will only see that support base rise. In my view, when the day comes independence needs to be ushered in on a tidal wave of support i.e. we need a large majority in favour. That way it will feel like it’s been won, rather than earned by default. We can do that, and I believe we will – but be patient!

Talking of betrayal from Westminster parties, I present the following official campaign poster produced by the ‘NO’ group:

vow2

During the last week of the campaign the ‘NO’ team produced the above. Step one was as outlined i.e. publish a motion for further powers before the UK parliament on 19/09. Well, today is now 20/09 and it still hasn’t happened. Furthermore there is no imminent sign of it happening as the Westminster parties can, surprise, surprise, not agree on a way forward. In other words the Scottish electorate (YES and NO) have been sold a pup. The Westminster parties had no intention of ushering in a raft of new powers for Scotland. It was a desperate ruse to secure votes. It won, we lost, they lied. The Scottish electorate are already waking up to this deceit and Scottish Labour, in particular, are likely to hemorrhage support in the coming days, weeks and months. Yet, I don’t think they truly care. They sold their souls to save the Union and knew there would be a price to pay. I’m sure their expectation will be met.

Ah well, that’s all for now. I promise not to make all my non-creative fiction blogs political. It’s just that after such a long time living within the referendum bubble it will take a few days of talking, writing and thinking about it before I can truly move on. Please bear with me.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

