Friday Fictioneers – A Troubled Voyage

ff210115Trembling fingers clamped tightly onto my mother’s soaking sleeve. If she too was afraid she never let it show. Instead, with each of my screams she simply pulled me that little bit closer. In the bow, my father and sister huddled together, shielding us from the worst of the spray.

The stomach spinning dips and swales kept coming. Each fresh surge of frothing, freezing cold water threatened to sink our flimsy craft. All hope seemed lost.

Suddenly, mercifully, the raging water was becalmed. A bearded man reached out a wrinkled, scarred hand to pull me onto dry land.

Since that day, even being near the Log Flume brings me out in a sweat.

friday-fictioneers

These words form my entry into this week’s Friday Fictioneers photo prompt challenge.

26 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – A Troubled Voyage

    1. paulmclem Post author

      Yeh, was a risk mentioning ‘Log Flume’, but I hoped most might have an idea what it was. Also risky having a last sentence which gives away the story. Hopefully people will read from beginning to end 🙂

      Reply
  1. Sally

    Love the twist, I hate those wet rides as well and was forced to go on one once, never again. You captured my feelings exactly on that day.

    Reply
  2. Nan Falkner

    Log Flumes (I didn’t know that was what they were called) are fun and WET! You had me fooled, I thought they were in danger until the end. WOW! Cute story! Nan 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

