Friday Fictioneers – Living The Dream

ff060515Another mid-winter sun had all but slipped behind the smouldering stacks of the Mulligan Brewery. Out in the street, neighbourhood children played in the fresh snow.

In descending gloom, the flickering monitor showed a single sentence – as it had done since before breakfast. My once boundless inspiration was now reduced to fleeting, elusive drips.

The front door clicked shut. A familiar, comforting hand was placed on my knotted shoulder. ‘Hi, honey. How’s it going?’ she said.

‘Great. Nearly done,’ I lied, closing the lid of my notebook.

I’d given up my job for this. Perhaps tomorrow would be a better day.

perhaps.

friday-fictioneers

These words form my entry into Friday Fictioneers photo prompt challenge. 

16 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Living The Dream

  1. micklively

    “Don’t give up your day job” the auditioners used to say. Writers’ block can be so frustrating.
    I am pleased that you don’t suffer from it.

    Reply
  2. Claire Fuller

    No, no, no. He has to keep writing, even the crap. Someone said, that the words you write will always be better than the words you don’t write at all. (Nicely written story by the way – I hope it isn’t true-life)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

