Friday Fictioneers – Guiding Hand

ff100615I was but a child the last time I last gazed into the sun’s hot, yellow flame. My young eyes stung. I screamed. After that moment there followed darkness, and my mother’s tears.

Since then the world has been the pictures I build within my own mind. The senses of touch, smell and sound growing stronger to replace the kin which was lost. Some say I can see more than those with sight. But I can’t do it alone.

My Jemma may never speak – but she is always listening; always watching; always ready.

She truly is this man’s best friend.

friday-fictioneers

These words form my entry into Friday Fictioneers photo prompt challenge.

[This is a new story, not a re-publication of an old one]

13 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Guiding Hand

  1. lingeringvisions by Dawn

    I live in a small town so most everyone knows or knows of everyone else. There is a man in our town, only slightly older than me who has gone blind. It took some years before he was completely blind but he is there now. His dog is loved by everyone and when on duty is stalwart but the moment he is released from said duty the children begin to giggle as he loves to play with them. It’s quite amazing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

