Friday Fictioneers – Trouble In Town

ff150715Another clear, cold dawn rose over Snake Falls. From behind twitching curtains frightened faces peered out for as long as they dared. On the dusty street a lone tumbleweed tumbled on by.

‘You there, Sheriff Hawkins?’ came a young, angelic voice.

I blinked into the rising sun. A graceful shadow edged slowly past Molly Finnegan’s Saloon. Iron spurs jangled softly on the creaking, wooden walkway.

‘It’s me, Billy,’ I replied. ‘You come to give yourself up, son?’

The shadow paused; a distant horse neighed.

‘Yeh, sure. That’s right, Sheriff’.

A squawking crow circled above. The shadow moved forward once more.

friday-fictioneers

These words form my entry into Friday Fictioneers photo prompt challenge.

20 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Trouble In Town

    1. paulmclem Post author

      I saw the man in shadow, long pavement etc looked like a gunslinger coming into town. Sometimes I will write about the whole picture, if the whole picture tells me a story. On other occasions I pick out the most interesting bit i.e. the man in shadow. Thanks for commenting.

      Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      Thanks! At the stage with FF where I am allergic to writing about the obvious, feel I need to do more. Sometimes it works, other times it can be a bit abstract. This time I thought the man in shadow was fair game.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

