Friday Fictioneers – The Light of My Life

ff050815It’s been nearly fifty years, but I can still smell the apple blossom in the trees; I can still hear the birdsong, feel the warm waters of the creek running between our toes. My pained heart still races when I recall the moment she first took my trembling hand and placed it against her firm, warm breast. The softness of her skin, the tenderness in her eyes – she always made everything seem right.

Yet today she is gone, and I’m alone. Our memories though will stay with me until we’re together once more on that moonlit river bank.

friday-fictioneers

These words form my entry into Friday Fictioneers photo prompt challenge.

18 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – The Light of My Life

    1. paulmclem Post author

      Cheers. Thought it might be a bit too sloppy/sentimental, but it’s what came into my head…so it’s what got written 🙂

      Thanks for visiting!

      Reply
  1. Margaret

    I’m sorry for him. my husband and I met 50 years ago this March just gone, and we have our 50th wedding anniversary next February, so your year count spoke to me and made me grateful once again that we got started so young, and that we (miraculously) survived. Great story.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

