Friday Fictioneers – Memories of Pripyat

ff260815Cracked strip lights pulse in time with the spluttering generator. Most of the lockers remain shut tight, their contents hidden since that weekend in 1986. Here and there a few lie open on rusted hinges – within, faded photos of wives and children, a copy of Pravda, a scarf, gloves, pairs of fur-lined boots, a brown leather jacket. Once cherished possessions discarded without a seconds thought.

The counter around my neck begins to click – it’s warning angrier than before: my time is running out. I take one last picture before I put my camera away and make for the open door, and daylight.

friday-fictioneers

These words form my entry into Friday Fictioneers photo prompt challenge. 

20 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Memories of Pripyat

    1. paulmclem Post author

      Cheers, Claire. As soon as I say your pic I thought of Pripyat. The idea of an abandoned city both scares and fascinates me in equal measure.

      Reply
  1. lunasgathering

    I’ve watched drone footage of Pripyat and looked at many photos. You capture beautifully the desolation and intrigue of that town left behind. The genealogist in me is begging to dig through the old documents and keepsakes, so much information and so many memories locked away for generations to come.

    Reply
  2. Margaret

    Very moving. There’s something about ghost towns that grabs our imagination. No matter what the cause of the abandonment, it’s powerful to see remnants of people’s lives just left in place. You’ve captured that fascination very well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

