Friday Fictioneers – The Waiting Room

ff300915He’s such a lovely man, Mr Williams. For thirty years he’s owned the card shop opposite the village Post Office. His only daughter, Grace, was a friend of my sister’s at school. His wife, Barbara, had been a stalwart on our local community council. Grace now lives in Australia, and Barbara only in his memories.

Nothing had been said to me of course, but the look on her face as she scanned down his results had told me everything I needed to know. Back at my desk I’d set up this morning’s appointment straight away.

A green light flashed on my console.

“Mr Williams, Dr. Francis will see you now.”

friday-fictioneers

These words form my entry into Friday Fictioneers photo prompt challenge.

16 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – The Waiting Room

  1. gahlearner

    There’s so much of caring and love in this short piece, I don’t know where to begin. Mr. Williams, like Barbara, will live on in many memories, I’m sure.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

