Friday Fictioneers – Personal Everest

ff130116Warm sweat was pouring down my back. The ends of my fingers tingled with pins and needles. My lungs were aching. I struggled to focus on my surroundings. I could barely hear the voice.

‘Only another few steps’

My mind was scrambled. The pain was searing. I just wanted to stop; to let the others go. There was no point in anyone waiting for me – I was a lost cause, and surely they knew it.

You can make it!’

With one last effort I was almost there. Almost…and then the music stopped.

Ok, class, see you next week’

I hate January.

friday-fictioneers

These words form my entry into Friday Fictioneers photo prompt challenge.

9 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Personal Everest

Leave a Reply

