Friday Fictioneers – The Wake

ff270416It was a confusing picture. Everything moving, everything out of place, everybody out of focus. The room was full of blurred faces; hushed, gentle voices whispered in respectful tones around me. My whole body was numb, my mind blank, my once inexhaustible spirit all but drained – my heart bloodied and broken. I didn’t want to be there, but I knew I had to stay, that much at least was clear. I know in time I will want to be with these people again, to enjoy their company and to share in their love and kindness. But not today. Not now.

friday-fictioneers

These words form my entry into Friday Fictioneers photo prompt challenge.

17 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – The Wake

    1. paulmclem Post author

      One of the most moving things anyone has ever said about my work on FF. You’ve really brought home to me the power of writing with that comment. Take care, PaulC.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

