Friday Fictioneers – Area 52

ff110516The pencil-thin man in the stiff, dark suit remained unmoved. He readied a fresh sheet of paper and switched the tape recorder back on.

‘Once again, Sir, please.’

I was exhausted. I’d been there for hours, or was it days?

‘As I’ve already told you, we were out night fishing on Jessop’s creek. Something came out of the water – something big. Lights flashing all over, but silent.…and then it was just gone. That’s what happened.’

The man sighed. Nothing I could say seemed to satisfy his questions.

‘What do you want?’ I asked.

‘Only the truth, Sir: that you saw nothing. Now, shall we try once more?’

friday-fictioneers

These words form my entry into Friday Fictioneers photo prompt challenge

21 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Area 52

    1. paulmclem Post author

      Sometimes I take longer to come up with the title than the story. Firmly believe that in these short pieces the title is key to giving a bit of insight into the story…without impacting the word count 🙂

      Reply
  1. mike

    Now sir tell me the truth, your going to publish a sci-fic novel. That’s a great tale you have just told me. Liked by Mike

    Reply

Leave a Reply

