Sunday Photo Fiction – Natural Born Artist

spf290516I started messing around with paint when I was a kid. I painted everywhere; on walls, on floors on windows. I drove my old mum mad. If I weren’t leaving paint on something I had it all over myself. No matter how many baths I had, no matter how much I scrubbed, there were always paint under my nails. More than that it was under my skin, and everyone knew it. In the end they just let me get on with it. And I did.

There wasn’t a part of town where you wouldn’t see my tag. Fizz I called myself and the cops and the council hated me. They’d clean a wall and I’d be back. From time to time they’d catch me. It didn’t bother me: if I had to pay for my art then so be it.

Funny thing is last week I went back to one of those walls I sprayed as a kid. This time the council were there again, but to say well done and give me a cheque. Yeh, so get this, they’re now paying me for my art. ‘Urban regeneration’ they call it; ‘Fucked up’, some old fella called it. Call it what you want – I just love to paint.

spf

Other entries for SPF can be found here.

14 thoughts on “Sunday Photo Fiction – Natural Born Artist

    1. paulmclem Post author

      Cheers, Keith. Graffiti artists becoming mainstream. Why not I suppose, they produce some amazing work. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Reply
  1. mandibelle16

    Haha. I love how is ‘crime’ of graffiti, led to a real paying job, doing exactly the same thing he was doing. There are some beautiful spray painted places. I remember driving through San Diego and beneath some of the over passes are gorgeous spray painted murals. Great story.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

