Friday Fictioneers – Leaving Home

ff010616A ewe and her lamb huddled together for warmth in the darkness of the crumbling cottage. Last night the rest of the flock had followed each other into the temporary pen readied behind the farmyard, but at least one wary mother appeared to know what this meant.

As sunlight crept over the hills a red quad bike approached the cottage. A young collie crept inside and chased the two shivering occupants out into the open field. The farmer looked at his watch. Over his shoulder he could hear the lorry approaching: the spring lambs would soon be on their way.

friday-fictioneers

These words form my entry into Friday Fictioneers photo prompt challenge

15 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Leaving Home

    1. paulmclem Post author

      I find the bond between a ewe and her lambs beyond cute. They are rarely more than a few yards apart. Must be a terrible wrench for both when the day comes to go their separate ways. Does the mother ever forget her offspring, even when she has two more the next year?

      Reply
  1. wmqcolby

    My uncles were farmers, so this sounded kind of typical, although, they raised pigs and cows. I could see the whole story unfolding. Good job!

    Reply
  2. Dreamer of Dreams

    That was a terribly sad story. You did a beautiful job of evoking a sense of place and a sense of realness with your descriptions. I feel terrible for the ewe and her lamb.

    Reply
  3. The Voice

    My sister raises animals for food on her farm and I understand and accept this as a way of life. I eat meat and I’m not blind to the sources of my diet nor in how the animals are slaughtered. I have to believe I’m utilizing some cognitive dissonance in order to do this as I’m also not heartless and could never stand to actually witness the process of meat production. Your story was moving and well told and I didn’t expect the ending you created. Nice job, Paul.

    Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      Thanks for the comment. They way I square off the slaughtering of animals for food is that most of these animals only exist to be eaten i.e. it’s life then eaten, or no life at all. We simply wouldn’t have a world filled with sheep, cattle etc if they weren’t part of the human food chain. That’s the way I see it.

      Reply
  4. mickwynn2013

    Lamb’s delicious but there’s something uncomfortable when reminded of how it’s produced

    Reply
  5. Margaret

    Poor sheep. What hope did they really have? Although it sounds like this ewe’s developing some ability for original thought – maybe by next year she’ll come up with a better plan. Nice story – I like how you give us two perspectives.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

