Friday Fictioneers – A Pupil’s Sorrow

I started piano lessons at Miss Shawbridge’s place when I was eight. I always hated them, even though I never disliked her. It was the house which creeped me out, it smelled of death, everything just looked old. They stopped me going to see Miss Shawbridge when I was 13.

I saw her the other week, Alice Shawbridge. I hadn’t seen her in almost eleven years. Despite what I did to her that afternoon she still bears no malice. She’s forgiven me and wishes me no ill, she says. The thing is, I’m not sure I’ll ever forgive myself.

friday-fictioneers

These words form my entry into Friday Fictioneers photo prompt challenge.

It’s an old prompt, but a new story. No re-treads on here!

18 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – A Pupil’s Sorrow

  1. ceayr

    I love this, Paul, I think it is the best piece I have seen from you.
    ‘They stopped me going to see…’ is just brilliant.
    At first we assume parents, then we discover the truth, step by step.
    Chapeau!

    Reply
      1. ceayr

        Doyen?
        I am hugely flattered, but think you are confusing me with someone else.
        Cheers, and lay off the Irn Bru for a bit!

  2. The Voice

    Like CE, my first thought was that the parents stopped him from going because of something SHE did, but then we learn it’s the other way around. I too am guess some kind of assault, rape maybe, considering the line, “…even though I never disliked her.”

    Well done, Paul.

    Reply
  3. wmqcolby

    Creepy piano teachers probably in old Victorian-era houses. My mom was a music teacher and she tried giving me piano lessons. We laugh about it still. I couldn’t do it.

    Reply
  4. gahlearner

    At 13 he was old enough to cause serious trouble but young enough to not being held fully accountable. It speaks for him that he doesn’t forgive himself. Great story.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

