Friday Fictioneers – The Morning After Effect

ff161013My head was still spinning from the night before. I didn’t remember much, but it had been a good night, that much I was sure. Jimmy always did say the best nights were the ones you couldn’t remember.

On the way to the corner store two woman whispered as I approached.

That was his friend,’ I overheard one of them say. Both sets of eyes looked towards me. Dismissive. Disgusted.

My phone buzzed. There were a dozen messages from Jimmy’s kid brother.

It was then I noticed the blood stain on my jeans.; it was then I started to remember – and panic.

friday-fictioneers

These words form my entry into Friday Fictioneers photo prompt challenge.

It’s an old prompt, but a new story. No re-treads on here

13 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – The Morning After Effect

    1. paulmclem Post author

      I’m thinking some prank went wrong. Jimmy ended up injured and bleeding. The narrator stumbled home/passed out drunk. Jimmy is now dead or badly hurt. Dunno. Something like that…lol.

      Reply
  1. gahlearner

    Oh, ouch. Poor Jimmy and poor narrator. I hope Jimmy isn’t dead despite the women saying ‘was his friend’… It’s great how you lead us towards the panic bit by bit.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

