Friday Fictioneers – Happy Birthday to Me

ff120314A bikini-clad girl waved as her white leisure cruiser sped past the end of the pier.

Brad wiped bubbling froth from his top lip. ‘Jeesh, don’t you just wish you were 20 again?’

I smiled.

I hadn’t see 20 for nigh on 30 years. A lot had happened in that time – plenty of it good, and yeh, some not so good. But through most of it I’d been with the one person I truly loved – the one person who was there when I needed someone the most. I’d never risk losing her, not even for another life.

‘You bet,’ I lied, reaching for a cold beer.

friday-fictioneers

These words form my entry into Friday Fictioneers photo prompt challenge.

It’s an old prompt, but a new story. No re-treads on here.

8 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Happy Birthday to Me

Leave a Reply

