Friday Fictioneers – A Night Out

ff070916My throat was burning. The skin on the back of my hand seemed to shrivel before my weakening eyesight. I had to get home, and I was already running late.

‘Is this the place?’ the taxi driver asked.

I mumbled a response before thrusting a sweaty, crumpled $20 bill into his hands – I didn’t wait for change.

Rushing through the door my father was there waiting.

‘You were told 10pm, son, 10pm!‘

All the clocks in Cinders Antiques chimed their 10th and final chime of the hour in predictable unison.

I looked into the nearest mirror.  I had made it just in time.

friday-fictioneers

These words form my entry into Friday Fictioneers photo prompt challenge.

24 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – A Night Out

    1. paulmclem Post author

      Lol. Yep, I was going for some sort of hybrid Cinderella meets Jekyll meets Hyde vibe. Not much to do with a sewing machine, but hey, it was an antique 🙂

      Reply
    1. paulmclem Post author

      Thanks. Always think Antique shops are prime real estate for spooky/weird stories. That’s what happen when you grow up with Hammer Horror movies 🙂

      Reply
  1. wmqcolby

    Great effort, Paul. I think the Cinderella-Jerkyll & Hyde thing worked well. Has promise, too. if you want to continue the narrative. And those clocks — I could hear them!

    All in all, a very good story. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

