Friday Fictioneers – Festive Follies

ff071216I’d been up here once before, back when our father had worked on the building’s maintenance crew. On that sticky summer’s day my brothers and I believed we could see the whole world, even if it was really only west New Jersey. Thirty years later I look down and watch the rush-hour traffic backing up on Riverview Drive.  A sudden, biting wind ruffles my hair, nips at my tears. I look up briefly to catch a cascade of coloured lights twinkling in the windows of apartments across the street. Within my coat pocket an unanswered phone continues to ring.

friday-fictioneers

These words form my entry into this week’s Friday Fictioneers photo prompt challenge.

13 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Festive Follies

  1. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover

    I agree with ansumani, “an unanswered phone” does hint at many possibilities although I don’t think any are happy ones. I myself pictured him grieving the loss of his father.

    Reply
  2. wmqcolby

    If you have ever been to Jersey (I have), he was probably overwhelmed with the unique “rarified air” that comes up from the sea.
    Good characters, well done story!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

