Friday Fictioneers – Onward to Victory

ff151216We hadn’t advanced in weeks. My fingers and toes were turning black with frostbite. From somewhere deep within the freezing mists came the unnerving echo of enemy gunfire. This cursed weather didn’t seem to affect them as much as it did us.

Despite everything, my letters home had remained defiant – they had to be. We knew that all of our personal correspondence was reviewed by increasingly paranoid eyes. If I told the truth, If I said I thought the Fuhrer was wrong, I’d never see my wife and son again.

I steadied my rifle, despite trembling hands, as fresh snows began to fall.

friday-fictioneers

These words form my entry into this week’s Friday Fictioneers photo prompt challenge.

17 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Onward to Victory

  1. michael1148humphris

    What a terrible thing war is, and then add in nature and humanities frailties, and the result is as you so well illustrated. Well done.

    Reply
  2. mandibelle16

    An awful situation to be in. We don’t always think about the enemy soldiers, that war is hard for them too and that they aren’t necessarily given a choice either. When I studied WWII history, we learned as well as the allies, the Jews, mentally and physically disabled etc, Hitler was dangerous and often deadly for his own people in Germany too. Great piece!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

