Friday Fictioneers – Unwanted Attention

ff150217Susie woke with a start. It wasn’t the first time,  and for sure, wouldn’t be the last.

‘She’s my daughter, my kid, mine, mine!’

The defiant words of her father as he was dragged away remained as fresh as ever. The smell of stale beer and nicotine somehow still in her nostrils. She’d never forget the pain he caused her. The pain which will stay with her forever, even in sleep.

From the cot below the window, her own daughter gurgled and threatened to cry before falling silent once more. Beside her Jimmy snored. Outside another dawn began to break.

friday-fictioneers

These words form this my entry into this week’s Friday Fictioneers photo prompt challenge.  

17 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Unwanted Attention

    1. Christine Goodnough

      They do eventually, thanks be, but it can take years. I was married ten years before I stopped having nightmares about my dad’s fearful explosive temper, and longer than that before I quit cringing every time I thought my husband was angry. With patience, gentleness and love, healing can happen.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

