Friday Fictioneers – A Familiar Face

I hadn’t visited Uncle Jimmy since he’d gotten real sick. I felt bad about that, especially when I was told he’d left me something.

The small package contained a DVD and an envelope, the words “WATCH THE FILM BEFORE OPENING” etched boldly into the bleached, white manila.

Flickering, colourless reels of people and places of another time. A man on a rickety bicycle rolled unsteadily across the screen. He paused to raise his cloth cap triumphantly towards the camera. As the lens zoomed in my heart began to pound.

It can’t be. How could it be?

I opened the letter. Hands shaking, I started to read.

friday-fictioneers

These words form this my entry into this week’s Friday Fictioneers photo prompt challenge

14 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – A Familiar Face

    1. paulmclem Post author

      Neither am I, but it spooked him good and proper 🙂 Guess would be himself or someone else who shouldn’t have been there, or then.

      Reply
  1. jellico84

    Oh, what a wicked thing you’ve done, NOT telling us what he saw. Ouuuu- snort. But, then again, my mind can easily fill in that he saw himself, or rather his uncle at his age and they looked like twins. So, its an excellente! Wonderful tale, and I think maybe I shall forgive you…this once.

    Reply
  2. gahlearner

    Oooh, fun! I think there’s a time travel device in that envelope and he sees himself traveling back. Or maybe his uncle really is his dad. Or maybe… 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

